What is the Dole Leadership Prize?

The Dole Leadership Prize is awarded annually to an individual or group whose public service leadership inspires others. The award comes with a $25,000 prize and is awarded through the Dole Institute of Politics, typically at a public event held in the fall.

The 2015 Dole Leadership Prize recipient was William J. Clinton, the 42nd President of the United States.

Previous Dole Leadership Prize recipients are as follows:

2014: John D. Kemp, President and CEO of The Viscardi Center

2013: Nelson Mandela, former President of South Africa

2012: Wounded Warrior Project

2011: Viktor Yushchenko, former President of Ukraine

2010: World War II Women Airforce Service Pilots (WASP)

2009: Donna Shalala, former Health and Human Services Secretary

2008: George H.W. Bush, the 41st President of the United States

2007: John Lewis, United States Congressman and Civil Rights Activist

2006: Howard Baker, United States Senator

2005: Lech Walesa, former President of Poland

2004: George McGovern, United States Senator

2003: Rudy Giuliani, former Mayor of New York City

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
KU Today