KU Info Questions and Answers

How many Jayhawks are playing in the NBA?

Now, we admit that things change pretty fast in the NBA. The list below may be accurate one day and inaccurate the next. By our count, there have been about 81 KU players in the NBA. And here is a list of those who are currently playing:

Paul Pierce, Los Angeles Clippers
Nick Collison, Oklahoma City Thunder
Drew Gooden, Washington Wizards
Kirk Hinrich, Chicago Bulls
Mario Chalmers, Memphis Grizzlies
Darrell Arthur, Denver Nuggets
Brandon Rush, Golden St Warriors
Cole Aldrich, LA Clippers
Xavier Henry, Los Angeles Lakers
Marcus Morris, Detroit Pistions
Markieff Morris, Phoenix Suns
Thomas Robinson, Brooklyn Nets
Ben McLemore, Sacramento Kings
Jeff Withey, Utah Jazz
Andrew Wiggins, Minnesota Timberwolves
Joel Embiid, Philadelphia 76ers
Kelly Oubre Jr Washington Wizards
Cliff Alexander Portland Trailblazers
Sasha Kaun Cleveland Cavaliers
Tarik Black Los Angeles Lakers

11 Jayhawks have won NBA titles, but only 2 have won both an NBA title and an NCAA championship: Mario Chalmers and Clyde Lovellette. (Ok, Brandon Rush was a benchwarmer for the Golden St. team that won in 2015...) Clyde Lovellette was the first player in history to join the Triple Crown Club, winning NCAA and NBA titles, and an Olympic Gold.

Can't find the answer?

Email us your question

[staff: ed]

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).